Charlton County High School Home Page
« November 2017 »
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9

 

  Charlton Student Enrollment Requirements 

     In accordance with Georgia law, every parent, guardian or other person residing within the state and having control or charge of any child or children between their sixth and sixteenth birthdays shall enroll and send such children to a public school, private school, or home study program.

     All children and youth who meet the following conditions are eligible for enrollment in the appropriate general education programs of the school system and are also eligible for state funds if appropriated by the General Assembly. Other than students specifically exempted by rule or by law, before admitting any individual to a state-funded Georgia school or program, the superintendent or designee shall accept evidence in the order set forth below that shows the individuals date of birth:

(i) A certified copy of a birth certificate, certified hospital issued birth record or birth certificate;
(ii) A military ID;
(iii) A valid drivers license;
(iv) A passport;
(v) An adoption record;
(vi) An official school transcript; or
(vii) If none of these evidences can be produced, an affidavit of age sworn to by the parent, guardian or other person accompanied by a certificate of age signed by a licensed practicing physician, which certificate states that the physician has examined the child and believes that the age as stated in the affidavit is substantially correct.

     Upon presentation of one of these evidences, a photocopy of the document shall be placed in the student's record and the document that is presented shall be returned to the parent, guardian, or other person.

     A student shall be identified in the local Student Information System (SIS) and in the Georgia Statewide Student Information System (GSSIS) by the student's legal name as it appears on the documentation submitted for age verification or in a court order changing the students name.

     Each school's principal may grant a 30-day waiver for Georgia residents or a 90-day waiver for the proof of age requirement for children born in or transferring from another state.

1. All children who have attained the age of four by September 1 shall be eligible for application to the pre-kindergarten lottery program. A five year old child who has a record of a current IEP or medically documented developmental delay may be considered for Pre-K enrollment pending space availability and approval from the Director of Elementary Instruction.

2. All children who have attained the age of five by September 1 shall be eligible for enrollment in the kindergarten program.

3. All children who have attained the age of six by September 1 shall be eligible for enrollment in the first grade if they meet all the requirements in state board policy IHE.

4. A child who was a legal resident of one or more other states for a period of two years immediately prior to moving to this state, and who legally enrolled in a public or state/regional accredited kindergarten or first grade, shall be eligible for enrollment in the general education programs if such child will attain the age of five for kindergarten or six for first grade by December 31 and is otherwise qualified. Any child who has completed a kindergarten program under the provisions of the preceding paragraph and who resided in one or more other states for a period of two years immediately prior to moving to this state shall be eligible for first grade if such child attains the age of six by December 31 and is otherwise qualified.

5. All youth who have not attained the age of 20 by September 1 are eligible for enrollment in appropriate education programs, unless they have received a high school diploma or the equivalent. Students who have not dropped out of school for one quarter or more and who have not attained the age of 21 by September 1 are eligible for enrollment, provided that they have not received a high school diploma or the equivalent.

6. All youth who are classified as special education students are eligible for enrollment in appropriate education programs through age 21 unless they have received a high school or special education diploma or the equivalent, provided they were enrolled during the preceding school year and had an approved Individualized Education Program (IEP) which indicated that a successive year of enrollment was needed.

     The board of education has authority to assign students who are married, parents, pregnant, or re-enrolled to special programs within the regular daytime program, provided the programs are designed to earn credit toward receiving a high school diploma.

Site Map | Privacy Policy | View "printer-friendly" page | Login   In Japanese  In Korean  En français  Auf Deutsch  In italiano   No português  En español  In Russian  
Site powered by SchoolFusion.com © 2017 - Educational website content management